The Crown reigns as streamers dominate the Emmys

The Crown – the Netflix series based on the British Royal Family – has dominated the first Emmy Awards since the pandemic, which were held in person, but with fewer guests than before Covid-19 struck, and in a marquee.

Olivia Colman and Josh O’Connor were named the best actress and actor in a drama for The Crown.

It took eleven awards – seven of them at the main ceremony, to add to the four previously announced.

The streaming giant won a Best Drama Series award for the first time. The show also picked up prizes for writing and directing and all four of the main acting categories in the drama competition; Olivia Colman for her performance as the Queen, Josh O’Connor, for his portrayal of Prince Charles, Tobias Menzies for playing the Duke of Edinburgh and Gillian Anderson for playing Margaret Thatcher.

It was Apple TV Plus who triumphed in the comedy category, with the fish-out-of-water football show Ted Lasso being named the Best Comedy Series as well as picking up the best comic actor prize for Jason Sudeikis. British actor Brett Goldstein beat off competition from three of his cast mates to be named the best supporting actor in a Comedy, while Hannah Waddingham beat her co-star and closest friend Juno Temple to the supporting actress prize.

The other main comedy award, for best actress, went to Jean Smart for Hacks.

The Queen’s Gambit equalled The Crown’s total of 11 Emmy wins.

The third area of awards is for mini-series and TV movies and that went Netflix’s way too, with The Queen’s Gambit winning that category, as well as picking up the best directing award. There was some British success, with Michaela Cole winning best writing for I May Destroy You, Ewan McGregor being named the best actor for Halston and Kate Winslet taking the best actress prize for Mare of Easttown. Her co-stars, Evan Peters and Julianne Nicholson, took the supporting honours.

While more than half of the acting nominees were from ethnic minorities, Lovecraft Country’s Courtney B Vance was the only non-white winner, as the best guest actor in a drama. But RuPaul’s win for Drag Race in the competition category made him the most honoured black entertainer in Emmy’s history.

And here is the full list of winners:

Limited series
WINNER: “The Queen’s Gambit”

Drama series
WINNER: “The Crown”

Comedy series
WINNER: “Ted Lasso”

Variety special (prerecorded)
WINNER: “Hamilton”

Variety special (Live)
WINNER: “Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand Building Back America Great Again Better 2020″

Lead actor, drama
WINNER: Josh O’Connor, “The Crown”

Lead actress, drama
WINNER: Olivia Colman, “The Crown”

Lead actor, limited series/TV movie
WINNER: Ewan McGregor, “Halston”

Lead actress, limited series/TV movie
WINNER: Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown”

Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special
WINNER: Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”

Directing for a Limited Series
WINNER: Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Competition series
WINNER: “RuPaul’s Drag Race”

Lead actor, comedy
WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Lead actress, comedy
WINNER: Jean Smart, “Hacks”

Directing for a comedy series
WINNER: Lucia Aniello, “Hacks” (“There Is No Line (Pilot)”)

Writing for a comedy series
WINNER: Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs and Jen Statsky, “Hacks” (“There Is No Line (Pilot)”)

Variety sketch series
WINNER: “Saturday Night Live”

Variety talk series
WINNER: “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Writing for a variety series
WINNER: “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”

Supporting actor, drama
WINNER: Tobias Menzies, “The Crown”

Supporting actress, drama
WINNER: Gillian Anderson, “The Crown”

Directing for a drama series
WINNER: Jessica Hobbs, “The Crown” (“War”)

Writing for a drama series
WINNER: Peter Morgan, “The Crown” (“War”)

Supporting actor, limited series/TV movie
WINNER: Evan Peters, “Mare of Easttown”

Supporting actress, limited series/TV movie
WINNER: Julianne Nicholson, “Mare of Easttown”

Supporting actor, comedy
WINNER: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”

Supporting actress, comedy
WINNER: Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Guest actress, drama
WINNER: Claire Foy, “The Crown”

Guest actor, drama
WINNER: Courtney B. Vance, “Lovecraft Country”

Guest actress, comedy
WINNER: Maya Rudolph, “Saturday Night Live”

Guest actor, comedy
WINNER: Dave Chappelle, “Saturday Night Live”

TV movie
WINNER: “Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square”