In My Skin, Help, Time and Big Zuu among BAFTA TV winners

The stars of British TV have been out in force for the biggest night for the industry since Covid restrictions were relaxed, as BAFTA held its first fully attended, in-person awards ceremony for three years.

The BBC show In My Skin won two of the most prestigious awards, being named the Best Drama Series and with Kayleigh Llewellyn being honoured for her writing.

Sean Bean was named the best leading actor for Time, which won the best mini-series award.

But the show wasn’t up for any of the acting prizes. The leading actress award went to Jodie Comer, for her portrayal of a care worker in the one-off Channel 4 drama Help. Her co-star Cathy Tyson was named the best supporting actress, but Stephen Graham missed out on the leading actor award; that went to Sean Bean, his co-star in the BBC One drama Time, which was named the best mini-series.

Help itself missed out in the best single-drama category to the lockdown show, Together.

Not only did Graham see the co-stars of both of his nominated shows win their awards, he missed out in a second category, as Matthew Macfadyen was named the best supporting actor for the American hit Succession.

But Graham wasn’t the only multiple loser of the night – the most nominated show at the start of the evening, the AIDS-era drama It’s A Sin, failed to pick up any awards.

There was double success for Big Zuu, whose Big Eats show on the Dave network won him both the entertainment performance award – beating the likes of Graham Norton and Michael McIntyre – and the best features show.

Jamie Demetriou was named the best actor in a comedy programme for Stath Lets Flats, Alma’s Not Normal star Sophie Willan won the price prize for the best female performance in a comedy programme and Nida Manzoor won the best comedy writer award for We Are Lady Parts. But all three shows missed out in the best scripted comedy category to Motherland.

Among the other awards handed out on the night, BAFTA presented the veteran comedian Sir Billy Connolly with its highest honour, the Fellowship. In a recorded message, the ailing star said he was “very proud” and “life is good.”

Here is the full list of the winners of the 2022 BAFTA TV Awards:

Leading actress

  • Winner: Jodie Comer, Help – Channel 4

Leading actor

  • Winner: Sean Bean, Time – BBC One

Supporting actress

  • Winner: Cathy Tyson, Help – Channel 4

Supporting actor

  • Winner: Matthew Macfadyen, Succession – Sky Atlantic

Entertainment performance

  • Winner: Big Zuu, Big Zuu’s Big Eats – Dave

Male performance in a comedy programme

  • Winner: Jamie Demetriou, Stath Lets Flats – Channel 4

Female performance in a comedy programme

  • Winner: Sophie Willan, Alma’s Not Normal – BBC Two

Drama series

  • Winner: In My Skin – BBC Three

Single drama

  • Winner: Together – BBC Tw


  • Winner: Time – BBC One

Soap and continuing drama

  • Winner: Coronation Street – ITV


  • Winner: The Underground Railroad – Amazon Prime

Entertainment programme

  • Winner: Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway – ITV

Comedy entertainment programme

  • Winner: The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan – Channel 4

Scripted comedy

  • Winner: Motherland – BBC Two


  • Winner: Big Zuu’s Big Eats – Dave


  • Winner: The Chase – ITV

Must-see moment

  • Winner: Strictly Come Dancing, Rose and Giovanni’s silent dance to Symphony – BBC One

Current affairs

  • Winner: Fearless: The Women Fighting Putin (Exposure) – ITV

Single documentary

  • Winner: My Childhood, My Country – 20 Years In Afghanistan – ITV

Factual series

  • Winner: Uprising – BBC One

Reality and constructed factual

  • Winner: Gogglebox – Channel 4

Specialist factual

  • Winner: The Missing Children – ITV

News coverage

  • Winner: ITV News At Ten: Storming of the Capitol – ITV


  • Winner: The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Sky Sports Formula 1

Live event

  • Winner: The Earthshot Prize 2021 – BBC One

Short-form programme

  • Winner: Our Land – Together TV

Bafta Fellowship

  • Winner: Sir Billy Connolly

Writer: Comedy

  • Winner: Nida Manzoor, We Are Lady Parts – Channel 4

Writer: Drama

  • Winner: Kayleigh Llewellyn, In My Skin – BBC Three