Harry Potter casts his spell on Evening Standard Theatre Awards

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-childThe stage sequel to the Harry Potter books and films has been named the best play at the Evening Standard Theatre Awards. Harry Potter And The Cursed Child was directed by John Tiffany and written by Jack Thorne, who said it had been tough for a “Potter-head fan boy” like him to take forward the story of JK Rowling’s popular wizard.

The best actor award went to Ralph Fiennes for two performances; The Master Builder and Richard III. The former Doctor Who star Billie Piper won the best actress prize for Yerma, a modern retelling of Federico Garcia Lorca’s play.

Glenn Close was honoured for her musical performance in Sunset Boulevard, over Sheridan Smith’s turn in Funny Girl, which also lost out in the best musical category to the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre’s production of Jesus Christ Superstar. The show’s star, Tyrone Huntley, was named the best emerging talent.

Better known for acting, the American star John Malkovich won the best director prize for Good Canary.

The first prize of the ceremony – at the Old Vic Theatre – was the Beyond Theatre Award, which was presented by Prince William to Sir David Attenborough for his services to broadcasting, while Sir Kenneth Branagh received the Lebedev Award – named after the newspaper’s Russian publisher – for his season of productions at the Garrick Theatre.

The full list of winners at the 62nd annual event:

  • BEST PLAY – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – co-written by Jack Thorne, JK Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)
  • BEST ACTOR – Ralph Fiennes – The Master Builder (Old Vic Theatre) & Richard III (Almeida Theatre)
  • NATASHA RICHARDSON AWARD FOR BEST ACTRESS – Billie Piper – Yerma (Young Vic Theatre)
  • BEST MUSICAL PERFORMANCE – Glenn Close – Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum Theatre)
  • EVENING STANDARD RADIO 2 AUDIENCE AWARD FOR BEST MUSICAL – Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)
  • MILTON SHULMAN AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTOR – John Malkovich – Good Canary (Rose Kingston Theatre)
  • BEST REVIVAL – No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s Theatre)
  • BEST DESIGN – Gareth Fry with Pete Malkin (sound design) – The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
  • CHARLES WINTOUR AWARD FOR MOST PROMISING PLAYWRIGHT – Charlene James – Cuttin’ It (Young Vic/Royal Court Theatre)
  • EMERGING TALENT AWARD – Tyrone Huntley – Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)
  • BEYOND THEATRE – Sir David Attenborough
  • EDITOR’S AWARD – Good Chance Theatre
  • LEBEDEV AWARD – Sir Kenneth Branagh