The Lost Daughter, Passing, Zola, CODA and Red Rocket take main Spirit Awards

Maggie Gyllenhaal’s The Lost Daughter won three Spirit Awards, but none for its acting.

The Lost Daughter has won three of the top awards at the Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica, held two weeks before the Oscars this year, rather than the day before.

As well as winning Best Feature, at the ceremony that honours low budget films, it also secured the Best Director and Best Screenplay awards for Maggie Gyllenhaal.

But it missed out on the actor awards, with Oscar nominee Olivia Colman not even nominated. The Best Female Lead went to Taylour Paige for Zola, with Simon Rex being named the Best Male for Red Rocket.

Simon Rex won the Independent Spirit Award for Best Actor for Red Rocket.

The supporting prizes went to Ruth Negga for Passing and Troy Kotsur for CODA.

Japan’s Drive My Car was named the Best International Film – the only category open to films with no US element.

The Spirits – voted on by members of the LA-based Film Independent organisation – recognise achievement in American films, made for less than $22.5 million, so the selection of films and make-up of voters mean that they’re not generally a reliable indicator of Oscar success.

Like many other awards, including the UK’s BIFAs and London Film Festival Awards, they also try to recognise up and coming talent. Roshan Sethi’s 7 Days was named the Best First Feature and Michael Sarnoski and Vanessa Block won the First Screenplay award for Pig.

They have recently branched out into TV as well as film, this year recognising Reservation Dogs as the best cast of a scripted series, with the acting awards going to Thuso Mbedu for The Underground Railroad and Lee Jung-jae for Squid Game.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Feature

“The Lost Daughter” | WINNER
Producers: Charles Dorfman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Osnat Handelsman Keren, Talia Kleinhendler

Female Lead

Taylour Paige, “Zola” | WINNER

Male Lead

Simon Rex, “Red Rocket” | WINNER

Supporting Female

Ruth Negga, “Passing” | WINNER

Supporting Male

Troy Kotsur, “CODA” | WINNER


Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Daughter” | WINNER


Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Daughter” | WINNER

International Film

“Drive My Car” (Japan) | WINNER
Director – Ryusuke Hamaguchi


Edu Grau, “Passing” | WINNER

Robert Altman Award

“Mass” | WINNER
Director – Fran Kranz; Casting Directors – Henry Russell Bergstein, Allison Estrin; Ensemble Cast – Kagen Albright, Reed Birney, Michelle N. Carter, Ann Dowd, Jason Isaacs, Martha Plimpton, Breeda Wool

Truer Than Fiction Award

Jessica Beshir – Director, “Faya Dayi” | WINNER


Joi McMillon, “Zola” | WINNER

Producers Award

Lizzie Shapiro | WINNER

First Feature

“7 Days” | WINNER
Director – Roshan Sethi; Producers – Liz Cardenas, Mel Eslyn

First Screenplay

Michael Sarnoski, Vanessa Block, “Pig” | WINNER


“Summer of Soul (… or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)” | WINNER
Director – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson; Producers – David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent, Joseph Patel

Someone to Watch Award

Alex Camilleri – Director, “Luzzu” | WINNER

John Cassavetes Award

“Shiva Baby” | WINNER
Writer/Director/Producer – Emma Seligman; Producers – Kieran Altmann, Katie Schiller, Lizzie Shapiro

Ensemble cast in a new scripted series

“Reservation Dogs” | WINNER
Ensemble Cast: Devery Jacobs, D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Lane Factor, Paulina Alexis, Sarah Podemski, Zahn McClarnon, Lil Mike, FunnyBone

Female performance in a scripted series

Thuso Mbedu, “The Underground Railroad” | WINNER

Male performance in a new scripted series

Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game” | WINNER

New non-scripted or documentary series

“Black and Missing” | WINNER
Series By/Executive Producers – Soledad O’Brien, Geeta Gandbhir; Executive Producers – Jo Honig, Patrick Conway, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Sara Rodriguez

New scripted series

“Reservation Dogs” | WINNER
Creators/Executive Producers – Sterlin Harjo, Taika Waititi; Executive Producer – Garrett Basch